So many today know very little about the fifty-six men who signed the Declaration of Independence. They pledged their “lives, fortunes, and sacred honor” to preserve the important freedoms enshrined in that document. Their legacy, in the form of the Declaration, has lasted throughout the centuries as America has grown and prospered and this legacy deserves to be remembered! Below we’ve collected some resources about the signers of the Declaration and their wives to keep their memory alive!

Biographical Websites

Colonial Hall: http://colonialhall.com/biodoi.php

US History.org: http://www.ushistory.org/DECLARATION/signers/index.html

National Park Service: https://www.nps.gov/parkhistory/online_books/declaration/bioa.htm

Biographical Books

John Sanderson, Biography of the Signers: https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/007911419

Lives of the Signers: https://shop.wallbuilders.com/lives-of-the-signers-of-the-declaration

Wives of the Signers: https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=nyp.33433082543806&view=1up&seq=11

WallBuilders’ Articles

“4th of July Article”: https://wallbuilders.com/4th-july-article/

“Courageous Women During the American Revolution”: https://wallbuilders.com/women-heroes/

“Dr. Benjamin Rush”: https://wallbuilders.com/dr-benjamin-rush/

“FAQs” (specifically the section titled “America’s Founding Fathers”): https://wallbuilders.com/faqs/

“James Wilson”: https://wallbuilders.com/james-wilson/

“Secretary of the Continental Congress Charles Thomson”: https://wallbuilders.com/secretary-continental-congress-charles-thomson/

“The Cost of Signing the Declaration of Independence”: https://wallbuilders.com/cost-signing-declaration-independence/

“Their Lives, Fortunes and Sacred Honor: Richard Stockton”: https://wallbuilders.com/lives-fortunes-sacred-honor-richard-stockton/

“Who Was Charles Carroll?”: https://wallbuilders.com/who-was-charles-carroll/

Other Articles & Websites

National Archives: https://www.archives.gov/founding-docs/signers-gallery

Signers of the Declaration of Independence: https://www.archives.gov/founding-docs/signers-factsheet

print